Reason behind international students in Australia?

I have been away from the internet for a while and I will, but I have just found an interesting article when I was looking at Google news today at the library.
The article is mainly takes up two issues in Australian educational industry which is now the third largest export.
The first is about the private educational institutions which give international students educational certificates for permanent residency, and the other is the attacks to the indian students that are regarded to be “racist attacks”.
“It is time to question why any foreign student would be prepared to pay thousands of dollars and deal with obvious cheats in order to gain residence in a country they think is racist. It just doesn’t add up.”
I came here to Sydney just to study. I wanted to learn different cultures, and study my major at the same time as improving my English ability. I would like to go back home after my uni. Therefore I was very surprised that many international students I saw came here in order to live the rest of their life here, almost leaving their home behind.
As I talk to people here, I began to think that one of the reasons why they want to live here might be because they can lead better lives in this country than in their home countries. Even my friend from China told me the same thing.
I came from the country which is richer even than Australia, so I really do not know what it is like to live in those countries, but I think it makes sense.
I may be called as a “racist” if I say something like this, and I know there are a lot of exceptions such as Korean people, but that could be the reason why “foreign students deal with obvious cheats in order to gain residence in a country they think is racist”.
hmmm, what do you think?

I have just found an interesting article to talk about in this blog when I was looking at Google news today at the library.

Race slurs an Indian beat-up

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25854403-5000117,00.html

The article is mainly takes up two issues in Australian educational industry which is now the third largest export; the first is about the private educational institutions which give international students educational certificates for permanent residency, and the other is the attacks to the indian students that are regarded to be “racist attacks”.

What led me to post this is these sentences in the end.

“It is time to question why any foreign student would be prepared to pay thousands of dollars and deal with obvious cheats in order to gain residence in a country they think is racist. It just doesn’t add up.”

I came here to Sydney just to study. I wanted to learn different cultures, and study my major at the same time as improving my English ability. I would like to go back home after my uni. Therefore I was very surprised that many international students I saw came here in order to live the rest of their life here, almost leaving their home behind.

As I talk to people here, I began to think that one reason why they want to live here might be because they can lead better lives in this country than in their home countries. Even my friend from China told me the same thing.

I came from the country which is richer even than Australia, so I really do not know what it is like to live in those countries, but I think it makes sense.

I may be called as a “racist” if I say something like this, and I know there are a lot of exceptions such as Korean people, but that could be the reason why “foreign students deal with obvious cheats in order to gain residence in a country they think is racist”.

hmmm, what do you think?

This is a post by areyouawake9.

One response to “Reason behind international students in Australia?

  1. I also know some people even Koreans who are trying to acquire permanent residensy(PR) by studying in Australia. People learn what they don’t actually like, just to get a PR. I know some cases for S.Korea young men that they apply for PR to avoide the army service required back home country. Since I am a S.Korea woman, I don’t necessarily feel needing PR to live and work in Australia. I came here to learn what I like the most and enjoy its environmental advantages as much as I can. I want much broader experience in my lifetime than settling in a specific country (just to be comfortable and safe for myself).

    On the other cases, we shell think about poor or retricted countries where its people naturally want to find more freedom somewhere else other than their nations. However, it’s definitely a misconception that people think that there would be such ultimate freedom once they get out of the country. We should realize every or anywhere in the world has problems that we don’t know until facing the already-settled society in whatever countries.

    If Australia wants to make money out of international students’ pockets, and if many international students seek to gain PR out of their studying in Australia, what’s difference?- They both want something beneficial just for themselves.

    Anyway, it’s pretty funny to see that the author of the article basically says ‘internationsl students who want to get PR, should accept what is common and customary historically settled by British (white and rich) immigrants a long time ago’. A question goes Why back then, they didn’t follow basic customary already settled by Aborigins? Before the author wants to ask the question to international students who ready to pay thousands of dollors to be settling in, he should ask to the mind of ‘pure Ausie’ people who haven’t paid as much as them to the ‘real’ Ausies.

Leave a Reply

